You are here

Marine Cadastre

Since its formation in 1985, the ACLS has been aware of growing concerns resulting from the lack of a comprehensive property rights system in offshore Canada Lands. If nothing is done, Canada will miss the full economic potential that the offshore area offers. The increasing human activities in the ocean space (protection areas, navigation, pipelines and cables, conservation areas, oil and gas, aquaculture, fishing, renewable energy projects, mining, etc) requires an integrated approach to balance competing demands. The common unifying element to these various management regimes is the geospatial component – key to a Marine Cadastre Considering the capital values of some projects being carried out or considered, and considering the increasing competition for ocean space, the potential for financial and environmental liability is huge.

  •  National and International communication companies, are permitted to deploy, or sometimes bury, expensive fibre optic cables across offshore Canada Lands without requiring a formal and integrated process to survey and record an interest to protect the companies rights
  • On land, the location of petroleum flow lines must be defined in accordance with the underlying property rights and survey system. No such requirement exists in the offshore.
  • The new proposal for the conversion of the oil and gas grid system has been accepted by CAPP, NEB, and administrative departments. There is little room for confusion as the old system is converted from NAD27 to NAD83. From a land surveying perspective, it will be more work for land surveyors because more calculations are required. However, every coordinate point will available via one official Web site.
  • Jurisdictional boundaries between the provinces and Offshore Canada Lands are not unambiguously defined. They are subject to legal and political conflicts and the circumstances of the day. As they define the jurisdictional boundaries between our members and provincial surveyors, they are of fundamental interest to the Association.
  • Jurisdictional boundaries between the provinces and offshore Canada Lands can be dependent on circumstances.
  • Interest is rapidly growing in the development of aquaculture leases in or near offshore Canada Lands. At present it appears that only one province that has established a formal process providing the parties involved with some degree of security of tenure in these leases.

According to Canada’s Ocean Action Plan, over the past decade and a half, we have seen a significant increase in economic activity in the offshore:

  • Commercial fishing industry continues to make an annual contribution to Canada’s oceans economy totalling $2 billion in harvest value and $4.4 billion in export value.
  • Employment in aquaculture has grown more than 460% and the value of fish farm production has increased by more than 500%.
  • Offshore oil and gas production has increased in annual investment value over the past decade from $250 million to $5 billion. Employment now represents 4.0% of the overall oceans industry compared to past levels of 0.3%.

Given the right management conditions, the oceans economy has the potential to grow enormously. There are, however, serious limiting factors identified by the Action Plan that handicap our oceans economy:

  • few venues presently exist for multi-sectoral interests to interact effectively with each other and to sort out conflicting use issues;
  • goals and objectives for decision-making are not clear nor integrated across sectors and they are not always grounded in sustainable practices, based on sound science that considers both current and cumulative impacts;
  • regulatory complexity and uncertainty as well as a continuing lack of awareness about economically based oceans activities frequently result in unreliable and hesitant investor confidence;
  • emerging industries seeking to find a niche such as offshore aquaculture, mineral and metal exploration and other non-traditional energy sources like wind and wave power generation are increasingly experiencing conflicts with other more traditional oceans uses over space and resource allocation; and,
  • “non-consumptive uses” of the oceans environment (cable-laying for telecommunications or electricity; oil or gas pipelines; etc.) often experience conflict due to lack of planning or concerns about lost access to ocean areas.

Solutions to these problems can be found in new management models founded on the three principles of Canada’s Oceans Act: sustainable development, the precautionary approach and integrated management. Countries around the globe that have pursued modern oceans management, including Canada, have recognized the value of integrated oceans management.

The principle of Integrated Management was first agreed to at the 1992 United Nations Conference on Environment and Development, which recognized the long term value of sustainable development. Canada, by signing the “Agenda 21” commitments, joined the global community in supporting action.

A Multi-purpose Marine Cadastre is a vital part of an effective and integrated oceans management strategy as it would provide the unifying element (geospatial relationship) between all competing uses. A Marine Cadastre could become a core element of an integrated management system by providing a common information base for legal boundaries, rights and restrictions. It will ultimately lead to more certainty for industry and faster environmental assessment. Developing a multi-purpose cadastral system as the foundation for effective integrated management of geospatially related information in the ocean space would enable integrated decision making. Such cadastral systems would provide a mechanism to integrate the rights, restrictions and responsibilities of all constituents with other environmental and economic data into a single system available for industries and governments.

A Marine Cadastre would provide a continuous, up-to-date inventory of all property rights on a common framework and a framework for recording all resource information.

A property rights system, of which a marine cadastre would be the component relating to the position and physical extent (boundaries) of the rights, on a common positional reference system, would have a major social and economic impact in the offshore by simplifying the administration, facilitating the execution of the rights (minimizing conflicts) and ensuring protection of property rights.

The establishment of our own Marine cadastre would also provide an opportunity for Canada to develop expertise in the establishment of marine cadastres and export it.

In March 2001, the ACLS organized a special one-day workshop in conjunction with the ACLS Annual General Meeting in Halifax. Nearly 60 invited guests from many fields recognized the importance of offshore interests and participated. Major participants were oil and gas development companies and provincial coastal land administration agencies. Click here for a copy of the workshop report.

The ACLS then organized a Second Offshore Issues Consultation Workshop that took place as part of the Canadian Institute of Geomatics (CIG) Geomatics 2003 conference held in Calgary between the 16th and 18th of October, 2003. This Workshop continued the policy discussions that began at the Halifax workshop. The various recommendations from the Halifax workshop were also examined and measured against the status quo in order to determine the progress made since the recommendations were made. Click here for a copy of the workshop report.

Vous êtes ici

Marine Cadastre

Depuis sa fondation en 1985, l’Association des arpenteurs des terres du Canada a été mise au courant de plusieurs problèmes reliés aux limites et aux droits dans la vaste étendue du domaine extracôtier des terres du Canada et du besoin de règlements pour l’arpentage. Si aucun geste n’est posé, le Canada ne pourra pas profiter du plein potentiel économique qu’offre la zone extracôtière. Le nombre croissant d’activités générées par l’homme en espace marin (périmètres de protection, navigation, pipelines et câblage, aires de conservation, gaz et pétrole, aquaculture, pêcheries, projets de sources d’énergie renouvelable, exploitation minière, etc.) exige une concertation pour assurer un équilibre parmi toutes les demandes d’exploitation. L’élément commun unifiant tous ces modes de gestion est l’élément géospatial -  la clé du cadastrage maritime. 

En considérant les valeurs en capital de certains projets déjà en marche ou sous étude, et en considérant la compétition croissante pour l’usage de l’espace marin, le potentiel de pertes financières et environnementales est énorme. 

  • Des entreprises nationales et multinationales de communication peuvent déployer, ou même enfouir, du câblage de fibre optique au coût très élevé en traversant une zone extracôtière des terres du Canada sans avoir à respecter quelque démarche formelle qui assurerait la protection des parties
  • Sur terre, l’emplacement des conduites d’écoulement de pétrole doit être déterminé par rapport aux droits de la propriété sous-jacente et aux données d’arpentage. Il n’existe aucune réglementation semblable en zone extracôtière.
  • La nouvelle proposition pour la conversion du réseau gazier et pétrolier a été approuvée par l’ACPP, l’ONÉ et les départements administratifs. Les possibilités d’erreurs sont minimes  puisque le vieux système se convertit du système NAD27 au système NAD83. Vu d’une perspective de l’arpentage, ceci représentera plus de travail pour les arpenteurs puisque plus de calculs sont requis. Toutefois, touts les points de coordonnées seront disponibles sur un seul site Web officiel.
  • Les limites juridictionnelles entre les provinces et les zones extracôtières des terres du Canada ne sont pas définies de façon non ambiguë. Elles sont sujettes aux conflits politiques et légaux et aux circonstances du jour. Puisqu’elles définissent les limites juridictionnelles entre nos membres et les arpenteurs provinciaux, elles sont d’un intérêt primordial pour l’Association.
  • Les limites juridictionnelles entre les provinces et les zones extracôtières des terres du Canada peuvent être dépendantes de circonstances.
  • Il y a un intérêt croissant pour le développement de l’aquaculture dans les zones près des côtes et/ou extracôtières des terres du Canada. En ce moment, il semble qu’il n’y ait qu’une seule province qui ait établi un processus formel qui procure aux deux parties impliquées un certain droit au maintien dans les lieux dans ces baux.   

D’après le Plan d’action du Canada pour les océans, depuis les quinze dernières années, on note une augmentation significative de l’activité économique dans les zones extracôtières :

  • L’industrie de la pêche commerciale continue à contribuer à l’économie des océans du Canada avec des chiffres annuels qui totalisent  $2 milliards en valeur de récolte et $4.4 milliards en valeur d’exportation.
  • Le nombre d’emplois en aquaculture a augmenté de 460% et la valeur de production en pisciculture a connu une hausse de plus de 500%
  • La production extracôtière de gaz et de pétrole a vu sa valeur intrinsèque annuelle passer de $250 millions à $5 milliards au cours des dix dernières années. Ses emplois représentent maintenant 4.0% des tous les effectifs de l’industrie marine, comparativement à des niveaux de 0.3% déjà vus antérieurement.

Avec de bonnes conditions de gestion, l’économie des océans a un potentiel de croissance extraordinaire. Il existe toutefois des facteurs contraignants, identifiés par le Plan d’action, qui contribuent à freiner l’essor de l’économie de nos océans. 

  • il existe peu de lieux de rencontres qui permettent une interaction efficace entre les divers intérêts multisectoriels, et donc à une résolution concertée de situations conflictuelles d’utilisation;
  • les buts et objectifs pour les prises de décision ne sont ni clairs, ni intégrés dans l’ensemble des secteurs et ne sont pas toujours basés sur des pratiques durables, sur des principes éprouvés qui tiennent compte des impacts à court et long terme;
  • la complexité réglementaire, l’incertitude ainsi qu’un manque de connaissances sur les activités à base économique des océans engendrent fréquemment une remise en question de la fiabilité d’un projet et/ou une certaine hésitation de la part des investisseurs;    
  • les industries émergeantes telles l’aquaculture extracôtière, l’exploration minérale et des métaux, et les exploitants d’autres sources d’énergie non traditionnelles telles le vent et les vagues, rencontrent de plus en plus de résistance de la part des usagers plus traditionnels quant à l’attribution de l’espace et des ressources marines; et  
  • l’usage du territoire marin sans consommation de ses ressources (déploiement de câbles pour fins de télécommunication ou d’électricité, de pipelines, etc.) est souvent source de conflit dû au manque de planification ou à la perte d’accès au territoire utilisé.

Des solutions à ces problèmes peuvent être trouvées dans les nouveaux plans de gestion qui reposent sur les trois principes directeurs de la Loi sur les océans du Canada : le développement durable, l’approche préventive et la gestion intégrée. Partout sur le globe, les pays qui recherchent la modernisation de la gestion des océans, y compris le Canada, reconnaissent la valeur de la gestion intégrée des océans.

Le principe de gestion intégrée a été approuvé pour la première fois en en 1992, à la Conférence des Nations Unies sur l’environnement et du développement, qui a reconnu la valeur à long terme du développement durable. Le Canada, en adhérant à « Action 21 », s’est joint à la collectivité mondiale en supportant le plan d’action.

Un cadastre maritime multifonctionnel joue un rôle vital dans une stratégie de gestion des océans efficace et intégrée, car il procurerait l’élément unifiant (relation géospatiale) entre tous les différents usagers. Un cadastre marin pourrait devenir un attribut de base d’un système de gestion intégrée en fournissant une base de données commune pour les limites juridiques, les droits et les restrictions. Ceci mènerait ultimement à renforcer la confiance de la part de l’industrie et rendrait plus rapide l’exécution d’études d’impact environnemental. Le développement d’un système cadastral multifonctionnel comme base d’une gestion intégrée efficace d’information géospatiale en milieu marin permettrait les prises de décisions intégrées. De tels systèmes cadastraux offriraient un mécanisme qui permettrait d’intégrer les droits, restrictions et responsabilités de tous les intervenants avec d’autres données environnementales et économiques dans un seul et même système auquel auraient accès les industries et gouvernements.

Un cadastre marin procurerait un inventaire continuellement mis à jour de tous les droits de propriété dans un encadrement commun ainsi qu’un encadrement pour l’enregistrement de toute information sur les ressources. 

Un système de droits de propriété, duquel un cadastre marin serait l’élément de référence pour l’emplacement et l’étendue physique (limites) de ces droits, sur un système commun de référence de positionnement, aurait un impact social et économique majeur pour les affaires extracôtières en simplifiant leur administration, en facilitant l’exécution des droits (minimiser les conflits) et en assurant la protection des droits de propriété.

L’instauration de notre propre cadastre marin donnerait aussi l’occasion au Canada de développer une expertise en ce domaine et de pouvoir exporter celle-ci.

En mars 2001, l’AATC, a organisé un atelier spécial d’une journée en conjonction avec son assemblée générale annuelle tenue à Halifax. Presque soixante personnes, intéressées par les questions extracôtières canadiennes ont participé à l’atelier. Les participants principaux provenaient des secteurs d’exploitation de pétrole et de gaz et des organismes provinciaux d’administration des terres côtières. Cliquez ici pour une copie du rapport (en anglais seulement).

L’AATC a ensuite organisé un deuxième atelier consultatif sur les questions extracôtières, qui s’est tenu en conjonction avec la conférence de l’Association canadienne des sciences géomatiques (ACSG) 2003, qui a eu lieu à Calgary entre le 16 et le 18 octobre 2003. Cet atelier a servi d’occasion pour continuer la discussion sur les politiques entamée à Halifax. Les diverses recommandations émises suite à l’atelier de Halifax ont aussi été examinées et comparées au statu quo pour pouvoir déterminer la mesure des progrès faits depuis mars 2001. Cliquez ici pour une copie du rapport de l’atelier.