You are here

Hydrographers

Certification of Hydrographers

The Association of Canada Lands Surveyors (ACLS) has developed a certification model for Hydrographers which is now ready to receive applications. The program is designed to promote IBSC-Accredited Category A or B training in Canada, while standardizing knowledge and experience requirements for individuals possessing non-accredited hydrographic surveying training and experience. The ACLS Certification program is open to both ACLS-Commissioned and non-commissioned hydrographic and offshore surveyors in Canada and abroad.

The IHO/FIG/ICA International Board of Standards and Competence for Hydrographic Surveyors and Nautical Cartographers (IBSC) officially recognized the ACLS Certification model in April of 2016.

The « Centre interdisciplinaire de développement en cartographie des océans (CIDCO) » in Rimouski, Québec obtained the IBSC Category B recognition of its Hydrographic Surveying program by the IBSC in 2015 and the Marine Institute in Newfoundland obtained the IBSC Category B recognition in April 2016. This is great news for the hydrographic surveying profession in Canada. The next logical step in the career path for graduates of those programs is professional recognition by a national body, so the ACLS certification is a straightforward choice.

Certification Levels

The ACLS Program has two levels of Certification. A flow chart illustrating the program can be found here.

Level 1 Certified Hydrographer (CH)

A Certified Hydrographer (CH) is competent to undertake and manage hydrographic surveying projects. There are three pathways to this level.

Category A Course

Individuals having successfully completed an IBSC recognized Category A Course are eligible for Level 1 Certification if they have up to 2 years of practical hydrographic surveying experience with substantial in-charge experience acceptable to the Canadian Hydrographer Certification Panel (CHCP).

Category B Course

Individuals having successfully completed an IBSC recognizde Category B Course and hold a Canadian Board of Examiners for Professional Surveyors (CBEPS) Certificate of Completion are eligible for Level 1 Certification if they have up to 3 years of experience, 2 of which are in practical hydrographic surveying with substantial in-charge experience acceptable to the CHCP.

CLS Commission, BSc. Surveying or CBEPS Certificate of Completion

Individuals holding a Canada Lands Surveyor (CLS) Commission, or CBEPS Certificate of Completion or having successfully completed a Surveying Bachelor’s Degree are eligible for Level 1 Certification if they have successfully written the CBEPS E2 Advanced Hydrographic Surveying exam and have up to 5 years of experience, 2 of which are in practical hydrographic surveying with substantial in-charge experience acceptable to the CHCP.

Level 2 Certified Hydrographic Technician

A Certified Hydrographic Technician is competent to support hydrographic surveying projects.

There are two pathways to this level.

Category B Course

Individuals having successfully completed a IBSC recognize Category B Course are eligible for Level 2 Certification if they have up to 2 years of practical hydrographic surveying experience with substantial in-charge experience acceptable to the CHCP.

Diploma or Certificate in Surveying or equivalent

Individuals who have completed a 2 or 3 year college diploma or certificate program in surveying or its equivalent are eligible for Level 2 Certification if they have successfully written the exam for CBEPS subjects C1, C2, C4, C5, C6, C7, C12 and E2 or have taken recognized courses. Where the subjects are as follows: C1 – Mathematics; C2 – Least-Squares Estimation and Data Analysis; C4 – Coordinate Systems and Map Projections; C5 – Geospatial Information Systems; C6 – Geodetic Positioning; C7 – Remote Sensing and Photogrammetry, C12 – Hydrographic Surveying, and E2 Advanced Hydrographic Surveying. Candidates also have to demonstrate up to 2 years of practical hydrographic surveying experience with substantial in-charge experience acceptable to the CHCP.

For complete information on the program, click here to download the CHCP Candidate Handbook.

Procedures for Submission

The CHCP meets every four months to review applications and notifies the ACLS Board of Examiners of its decision. The deadline for the submission is one month prior to each CHCP meeting. Dates of meetings have not yet been set by the CHCP.

Forms are available on the Forms page of this website under "Hydrographer Certification Program".

For information on the program, contact the ACLS Registrar, Jean-Claude Tétreault at: jctetreault@acls-aatc.ca  or 613-723-9200. Jean-Claude will gather names and contact information of those interested in applying for certification.

Vous êtes ici

Hydrographes

Certification des hydrographes

L’Association arpenteurs des terres du Canada (AATC) a mis au point un modèle de certification pour les hydrographes et est en train de finaliser les détails de mise en œuvre au cours de l’été 2016. Le programme est conçu pour promouvoir la formation catégorie A ou B agréée par l’IBSC au Canada, tout en standardisant les exigences et connaissances requises pour les personnes possédant une formation et de l’expérience non agréées en hydrographie. Le programme de certification de l’AATC est ouvert aux hydrographes et arpenteurs extracôtiers tant détenteurs que non-détenteurs de brevets au Canada et de l’étranger.

Le Comité international FIG-OHI-ACI sur les normes de compétence pour les hydrographes et les spécialistes en cartographie marine (IBSC) a officiellement accordé son agrément au programme de certification des hydrographes de l’AATC en avril 2016.

Le Centre interdisciplinaire de développement en cartographie des océans (CIDCO)  de Rimouski, Québec a obtenu la reconnaissance catégorie B de l’IBSC de son programme de formation en hydrographie en 2015 et la Marine Institute de Terre-Neuve a obtenu la reconnaissance catégorie B de l’IBSC en 2016. Ce sont d’excellentes nouvelles pour la profession hydrographique au Canada. L’étape suivante logique pour les diplômés de ces programmes est la reconnaissance par un organisme national — la certification par l’AATC devient ainsi le choix qui s’impose.

Niveaux de certification

Le programme de l’AATC comporte deux niveaux de certification. On peut trouver un organigramme du programme ici.

Niveau 1 — Hydrographe certifié (HC)

Un hydrographe certifié possède les compétences pour entreprendre et gérer des projets d’hydrographie. Trois itinéraires mènent à ce niveau.

Cours de catégorie A

Les individus ayant réussi un cours de catégorie A reconnu par l’IBSC sont admissibles à une certification Niveau 1 s’ils cumulent jusqu’à deux années d’expérience pratique en hydrographie avec un niveau de responsabilité substantiel jugé acceptable par le panel de certification des hydrographes du Canada (CHCP).

Cours de catégorie B

Les individus ayant réussi un cours de catégorie B reconnu par l’IBSC et qui possèdent un certificat d’achèvement  du Conseil canadien des examinateurs pour les arpenteurs-géomètres (CCEAG) sont admissibles à la certification Niveau 1 s’ils cumulent jusqu’à trois années d’expérience dont deux d’expérience pratique en hydrographie avec un niveau de responsabilité substantiel jugé acceptable par le CHCP.

Brevet ATC, BSc. en arpentage ou certificat d’achèvement du CCEAG

Les individus titulaires d’un brevet d’arpenteur des terres du Canada (ATC), ou d’un certificat d’achèvement du CCEAG ou d’un diplôme de deuxième cycle (baccalauréat) en arpentage sont admissibles à la certification Niveau 1 s’ils ont réussi l’examen sur l’arpentage hydrographique avancé E2 du CCEAG et cumulent jusqu’à 5 années d’expérience dont deux d’expérience pratique en hydrographie avec un niveau de responsabilité substantiel jugé acceptable par le CHCP.

Niveau 2 Technicien certifié en hydrographie (TechCH)

Un technicien certifié en hydrographie possède les compétences pour appuyer les projets d’hydrographie.

Deux itinéraires mènent à ce niveau.

Cours de catégorie B

Les individus ayant réussi un cours de catégorie B reconnu par l’IBSC sont admissibles à une certification Niveau 2 s’ils cumulent jusqu’à deux années d’expérience pratique en hydrographie avec un niveau de responsabilité substantiel jugé acceptable par le CHCP.

Diplôme ou certificat en arpentage ou équivalence

Les individus qui ont réussi un programme de diplôme collégial de 2 ou 3 ans ou de certificat  en arpentage ou l’équivalent sont admissibles à la certification Niveau 2 s’ils ont réussi les examens du CCEAG portant sur les sujets C1, C2, C4, C5, C6, C7, C12 et E2 ou ont réussi des cours reconnus par le CCEAG portant sur les sujets suivants : C1 – Mathématiques ; C2 – Estimation des moindres carrés et analyse de données ; C4 – Systèmes de coordonnées et projections cartographiques ; C5 – Systèmes d’information géospatiale ; C6 – Positionnement géodésique ; C7 – Télédétection et photogrammétrie, C12 – Levés hydrographiques, et E2 Levés hydrographiques avancés. Les candidats devront de plus cumuler jusqu’à deux années d’expérience pratique en hydrographie avec un niveau de responsabilité substantiel jugé acceptable par le CHCP.

Pour des informations complètes sur le programme, pointez ici pour télécharger le manuel du candidat.

Procédures de soumission

Le CHCP se rencontre tous les quatre mois afin d’étudier les candidatures et avise le Conseil des examinateurs de l’AATC de ses décisions. La date de tombée des soumissions est fixée à un mois précédent chaque rencontre du CHCP. Les dates de ces rencontres n’ont pas encore été fixées par le CHCP.

Les formulaires sont disponible sur la page Formulaires de ce site. Allez à "Prgramme de certification des hydrographes".