You are here

Aboriginal Expertise

Since 1874, Canada Lands Surveyors have been closely involved in developing national resources, and are now reaching for a new level of maturity in their relationships with Canada’s Aboriginal peoples. Today, ACLS members are expected to study Native Government Issues as a prerequisite for qualification, and many CLS's make additional efforts to blend a relationship between traditional Aboriginal beliefs and contemporary land management practices. With a complete appreciation of the clients' land administration environment and unique requirements, the Canada Lands Surveyor can offer solutions that meet immediate needs as well as long-term goals.

The ACLS and its members are a dedicated resource to national aboriginal organizations, regional tribal councils, local band councils and their land, resource, and housing managers, GIS departments, and individual property owners.  The CLS can integrate survey services with other professionals, including engineers, lawyers, environmental consultants, resource managers, land developers, and officials from local, provincial, and national government agencies.

The Association has shown leadership in this area by helping the National Aboriginal Lands Managers Association (NALMA) to set up its certification program for aboriginal land managers. The ACLS has also established working relationships with the Assembly of First Nations and the First Nations Land Management Resource Centre Inc.

The Surveyor General Branch has conducted exhaustive research on property rights issues on Aboriginal Lands in Canada and has published the following reports and as a service to our Aboriginal partners, can be downloaded from this Web site:

Options for Land Registration and Survey Systems on Aboriginal Lands in Canada

Social and Economic Review of the Impact of Land Survey and Registration Systems on Canada Lands

Vous êtes ici

Aboriginal Expertise

Depuis 1874, les Arpenteurs des Terres du Canada ont participé étroitement au développement des ressources nationales et atteignent maintenant un nouveau niveau de maturité dans leurs relations avec les peuples autochtones du Canada.  À l'heure actuelle, on s'attend à ce que les membres de l'AATC connaissent les enjeux des gouvernements autochtones comme condition préalable à la qualification et plusieurs ATC déploient des efforts supplémentaires pour harmoniser les croyances autochtones traditionnelles aux pratiques contemporaines d'aménagement des terres.  Possédant une connaissance complète de l'environnement de l'administration foncière et des besoins uniques des clients, les Arpenteurs des Terres du Canada peuvent présenter des solutions qui répondent aux besoins immédiats ainsi qu'aux buts à long terme.

L'AATC  et ses membres sont des ressources importantes pour les organisations autochtones nationales, les conseils tribaux régionaux, les conseils de bandes locales, les gestionnaires des terres, des ressources et des départements de SIG ainsi que les particuliers propriétaires fonciers.  L'ATC peut intégrer ses services au travail d'autres professionnels, notamment des ingénieurs, avocats, conseillers en environnement, gestionnaires des ressources, promoteurs immobiliers et représentants d'agences gouvernementales locales, provinciales et nationales.

L’Association a su démontrer son leadership en ce domaine en aidant l’Association nationale des gestionnaires des terres autochtones (NALMA) dans l’établissement de son programme de certification pour les gestionnaires des terres des Premières Nations. L’AATC entretient aussi des  relations de travail avec l’Assemblée des Premières Nations et le Centre de ressources sur la gestion des terres des Premièrs Nations.

Le Centre canadien de gestion cadastrale a procédé à des recherches approfondies sur les questions de droits de propriété sur les terres autochtones au Canada et a publié les rapports suivants, qui, pour le bénéfice de nos partenaires autochtones, peuvent être téléchargés à partir de ce site :

Options for Land Registration and Survey Systems on Aboriginal Lands in Canada

Social and Economic Review of the Impact of Land Survey and Registration Systems on Canada Lands